3 Days: Actor/Actress

I guess my “out on a limb” choice here will be Richard Gere for Arbitrage. I just gotta feel like many Oscar voters will jump at the chance to pull a deeply experienced, career filled thespian into the show. It will be awarding the great performance as well as the lifetime work, but I really think it’s going to happen. Other than that, I simply cannot fathom Quvenzhane Wallis NOT being nominated! I would be incredibly upset. It would be like Albert Brooks last year, although that is precedent for voters passing up the more obvious performances. Unfortunately, Joaquin Phoenix has been taking, all the way from #1 to not getting a nod at all. I hope I am wrong. I really do. It’s certainly the best performance of the year, from any gender. We’ll see if he has enough defenders still out there. This ultimately leaves out John Hawkes though. One solid pick had to go in lieu of predicting Gere, and I have just been so surprised at how little we’ve seen out of the Sessions over the past few weeks. I just think it’s the title that is fading the most right now.

Jennifer Lawrence “Silver Linings Playbook”
Jessica Chastain “Zero Dark Thirty”
Marion Cotillard “Rust and Bone”
Quvenzhane Wallis “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
Naomi Watts “The Impossible”

Bradley Cooper “Silver Linings Playbook”
Hugh Jackman “Les Miserables”
Daniel Day-Lewis “Lincoln”
Richard Gere “Arbitrage”
Denzel Washington “Flight”

Leave a Reply

